About Me

Hi, I’m Elsa and I live in Sydney, Australia. I started writing Fit to Be a Mum in 2013 to share my journey learning to be a mum and reaching my health & fitness goals as a new mum.

Elsa

 

I’m a 27 year old mum enjoying keeping up a healthy active lifestyle with a toddler in tow. I enjoy running and I’ve now run in the City 2 Surf 4 times and 2 Half Marathons. A normal week for me includes running, strength training, vinyasa yoga and some form of cross training. Oh, and I play netball over winter too. After years of dieting, I realised that focussing on eating whole foods with lots of fruit & veggies makes me feel good. I like to think I have a balanced approach to food now, but I still love chocolate and I can’t say no to a chocolate croissant or a scone. A little odd.

My husband Damo indulges me and keeps me sane (literally) and only occasionally complains about the food I cook. Note: do not serve what looks like meatloaf if it is in fact lentil loaf. I try not to be offended when he covers the meals I’ve slaved over in sweet chilli or BBQ sauce.

Our little girl Matilda was at 5:15am on 29th June 2012. We had some trying times in the first year with awful eczema as a result of dust mite and food allergies, but for now everything is smooth sailing. It’s amazing watching her grow and learn but it’s sad to realise she’s not my little baby girl anymore – she’s a walking, talking toddler. When did that happen?!

5 Random Things About Me

  1. In winter I practice yoga in my PJs (in my loungeroom not at a studio)
  2. I hate running on the treadmill and avoid it at all costs
  3. I represented Australia in rowing
  4. I love chocolate
  5. If I were to compete in a triathlon swimming would be my weak sport

So what will you find here? Ramblings about running, parenting and life.